Connor Hellebuyck wins the Vezina

Photo credit:© Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports
By Goose
17 days ago
Be sure to check Betway to check out the latest Jets game day odds and bet on the NHL!
For the second time in his career, Connor Hellebuyck has won the Vezina award. It is awarded to the “adjudged to be the best at this position” and was first awarded 97 years ago in 1927 to George Hainsworth, who won the award in its first three years of existence.
Hellebuyck beat out Stanley Cup winner Sergei Bobrovsky and Thatcher Demko of the Vancouver Canucks. Bobrovsky had a 26-17-4 record over 57 games, a 2.37 GAA, .915 SV%, and six shutouts. Demko was eliminated by the Edmonton Oilers in the second round of the playoffs. During the regular season, he had a record of 35-14-2, a 2.45 GAA, .918 SV%, and five shutouts.
Hellebuyck, who won the Vezina in 2020, posted a 37-19-4 record with a 2.39 GAA, .921 save percentage, and five shutouts in 60 games. He ranked second in wins behind Colorado Avalanche’s Alexandar Georgiev and also ranked second in save percentage among goalies who played 25 or more games, just behind Florida Panthers goalie Anthony Stolarz.
Hellebuyck was also voted sixth in Hart voting and was the highest-ranked goalie in Hart voting. Additionally, he brought the Winnipeg Jets the William M. Jennings award this season as well.

Check out these posts...