Pilot’s Logbook 2018-19: The Prologue

Another season of Winnipeg Jets hockey has concluded albeit way too soon. If there is a bit of a silver lining to the earlier than expected exit from the 2019 NHL Playoffs, it’s that it gives us a bit more of a chance to look back at this past season and more importantly at the players on an individual basis to examine where things went right, where they went wrong and what can be learned from it all.

With a summer of so many uncertainties, you can bet Kevin Cheveldayoff will be doing his homework, just as we have here for the third year in a row with a look back at the season that was with our Pilot’s Logbooks series.

Every Logbook will have stats covering both the regular season and lone playoff series the Jets took part in and we’ll review each player’s season. We’ll go over their contract status as well as what the future may hold for them and what their role with the Jets should be moving forward. In most cases we’ll also look even further back to a previous logbook entry to see if anything has changed over time.

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Of course we can’t do this without a bunch of help, so a huge thanks goes out to both NHLNumbers.com and CapFriendly.com for the salary info. Hockey-Reference.com provided the stats and numbers for each player. A huge assist to HockeyViz.com for charts and visuals to help with the player reviews and to Evolving-Hockey.com for the player contract projections.

Each day we’ll review a Jets player’s 2018-19 season and look a little bit ahead at what’s possible to come. As always we encourage your thoughts on the comments below each review, or with us on Twitter and Facebook.


Blake Wheeler

Mark Scheifele

Kyle Connor

Patrik Laine

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Bryan Little

Mathieu Perreault

Brandon Tanev

Adam Lowry

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Jack Roslovic

Andrew Copp

Advertisement - Continue Reading Below

Nikolaj Ehlers

Mason Appleton

Kevin Hayes


Jacob Trouba

Tyler Myers

Ben Chiarot

Josh Morrissey

Dmitry Kulikov

Dustin Byfuglien

Joe Morrow

Sami Niku


Connor Hellebuyck

Laurent Brossoit